Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to site content
CDC Home


The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee (CLIAC), managed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), provides scientific and technical advice and guidance to the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The Committee includes diverse membership across laboratory specialties, professional roles, (laboratory management, technical, physicians, nurses) and practice settings (academic, clinical, public health), and includes a consumer representative. The clinical and anatomic pathology laboratory specialties represented include microbiology, immunology, chemistry, hematology, immunohematology, cytopathology, histopathology, genetic testing, and informatics. The Committee also includes three ex officio members from the federal agencies that oversee the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) program, specifically the CDC, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Last, a nonvoting liaison representing the laboratory industry participates on the Committee.

The advice and guidance CLIAC provides to HHS pertains to general issues related to improvement in clinical laboratory quality and laboratory medicine practice. In addition, the Committee provides advice and guidance on specific questions related to possible revision of the CLIA standards.

For more information, please see the Federal Advisory Committee Database CLIAC page.

Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee
April 2015
CLIAC Group Photo
First Row - Left to Right: Dr. Keith Kaplan, Dr. Monica de Braca; Rev. Eugene Augustine, Dr. Robert Baldor, Dr. Barbara Zehnbauer (CDC Ex Officio Representative - Acting), Dr. Qian-Yun Zhang, Dr. Gwendolyn Delaney, Ms. Paula (Snippes) Vagnone, Ms. Janie Roberson, Dr. Elizabeth Palavecino, Dr. Linda Ward;
Second Row: Ms Karen Dyer (CMS Ex Officio Representative - Acting), Dr. Hardeep Singh, Dr. Burton Wilcke (Chair), Dr. Sally Hojvat (FDA Ex Officio Representative), Dr. Ann Gronowski, Dr. Elizabeth Marlowe, Ms. Maureen Rushenberg, Ms. Monica Toles (Committee Management Specialist);
Third Row: Dr. Roger Klein, Dr. William Mac Kenzie (Designated Federal Official), Dr. David Wilkinson, Dr. Richard Press, Mr. Robert Di Tullio (AdvaMed Liaison Representative), Dr. John Sinard, Dr. Edward Chan, Ms. Nancy Anderson (Executive Secretary)
Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,
    Division of Laboratory Programs, Standards, and Services
    1600 Clifton Road
    Mailstop F-11
    Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
  • CLIAC Direct Line:
  • The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO