Credits and Acknowledgments

Principal Investigators (Vida Health Communications)

  • John M. Craine, MS, MBA
  • Lisa McElaney, MFA

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Researchers

  • Dan Hartley, EdD
  • Marilyn Ridenour, BSN, MBA, MPH, CPH

Lead Research Consultant/Course Author

  • Lee Ann Hoff, PhD, RN

Project Manager (Vida Health Communications)

  • Barbara Costa, MS

Expert Advisors

  • Evelyn I. Bain, MEd, RN, COHN-S, FAAOHN
    Former Associate Director and Coordinator
    Division of Health and Safety for Massachusetts Nurses Association
  • Gabriele I. Cohen, RN, MEd, LNC
    PeriOperative Legal Consultant
  • Donna Gates, EdD, MSPH, MSN, FAAN
    Adjunct Professor of Nursing, University of Cincinnati
  • Susan Goodwin Gerberich, PhD, MSPH, BSN
    Mayo Professor, Division of Environmental Health Sciences
    School of Public Health, University of Minnesota
    Director and Principal Investigator
    Midwest Center for Occupational Health and Safety, Education and Research Center
    Co-Director, Regional Injury Prevention Research Center and Center for Violence Prevention and Control
  • Barbara Glick, RN, MS
    Clinical faculty, Mass General Hospital Institute for Healthcare Professionals
  • Martha Griffin, PhD, CS, RN
    Director of Research and Education
    Boston Medical Center
  • MaryAnn Gruden, CRNP, MSN, NP-C, COHN-S/CM
    AOHP Association Community Liaison
    Manager, Employee Health Services
    West Penn Allegheny Health System
    Allegheny General Hospital
    The Western Pennsylvania Hospital
  • Elise Handelman, MEd, RN
    Former Director, OSHAs Office of Occupational Health Nursing (1991-2010)
    Fellow, American Association of Occupational Health Nurses
  • Daniel Hartley, EdD
    Workplace Violence Prevention Coordinator
    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
  • Nancy Hughes, MS, RN
    Past Director, Center for Occupational and Environmental Health
    American Nurses Association
  • Marilyn Lanza, DNSc, ARNP, CS, FAAN
    Associate Chief for Nursing Research
    Edith Nourse Rogers Memorial Veterans Hospital
  • Jane A. Lipscomb, PhD, RN, FAAN
    Professor, University of Maryland Schools of Nursing and Medicine
    Director, School of Nursings Work and Health Research Center
  • Matt London, MS
    NY State Public Employees Federation, Health and Safety Department
    University of Maryland-Baltimore School of Nursing
  • Deborah McCarter-Spaulding, PhD, RN
    Assistant Professor of Nursing, Saint Anselm College
  • Kathleen McPhaul, PhD, MPH, RN
    Assistant Professor
    Specialty Director Community/Public Health
    University of Maryland School of Nursing
  • Bonnie S. Michelman, MS, MBA
    Director of Police, Security and Outside Services, Massachusetts General Hospital
    Security Consultant, Partners Healthcare
    Past President, Former Chair, International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety (IAHSS)
  • Nancy M. Nachreiner, PhD, MPH
    Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota, School of Public Health
  • Georgia L. Perdue, DNP, FNP-BC, CRNP
    Vice President, Nursing and Program Services, Conmed Healthcare
  • Marilyn Ridenour, BSN, MBA, MPH, CPH
    Commander, US Public Health Service
    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
  • Jonathan Rosen, MS, CIH
    Safety and Health Specialist
    NY State Public Employees Federation, AFL-CIO (Retired)
  • Carol Runyan, MPH, PhD
    Professor of Epidemiology and Community and Behavioral Health
    Colorado School of Public Health
    Director, Child and Adolescent Injury Research Program, Childrens Hospital Colorado
  • Craig Slatin, ScD, MPH
    Professor, Department of Community Health and Sustainability
    University of Massachusetts, Lowell
  • Judith A. Vessey, PhD, MBA, FAAN
    Lelia Holden Carroll Professor of Nursing
    Boston College
    William F. Connell School of Nursing

Special Acknowledgment

  • Kathleen Bartholomew
  • Gino Chisari
  • James Covino
  • Brian French
  • Suzanne Gordon
  • Martha Griffin
  • Jeanne McHale
  • Christina Stone
  • Harvard Real Estate
  • Knight Center Simulation Lab, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • University of Maryland School of Nursing

Video Production

  • Eric Stange (Director)
  • Barbara Costa (Producer)
  • Allie Humenuk (Videographer, Assistant Editor)
  • Stephen McCarthy (Videographer)
  • Ethan Goldhammer (Additional Videographer)
  • Steve Bores (Sound Recordist)
  • Wayne Simpson (Gaffer)
  • Erika Simon (Editor, Production Assistant)
  • Betsy Peixotto (Production Assistant)
  • Greig Cranna (Still Photographer)
  • Molly Cranna (Makeup, Production Assistant)
  • Carolyn Pickman, C.P. Casting (Casting)
  • Christine Jorge (Graphics)


  • Susan Becker
  • Calvin Braxton
  • Catherine Lee Christie
  • Sarah Cote
  • Viviana De Los Santos
  • Becky Dennis
  • Nancy Gahagan
  • Andrew Gerst
  • Kevin Kaine
  • Mike Malvesti
  • Alisa Miles
  • Yukimi Pincus
  • Juan-Carlos Pinedo
  • Christine Power
  • Robin Ann Rapoport
  • Rob Slocum
  • Bethany Van Delft
  • Debra Wise

Web Programming and Development

  • Christopher Spence, MEd
  • Richard Scholtes
  • Special Thanks to Thomas Ebert and Matthew Wilson

Vida Health Communications Staff

  • Lisa McElaney
  • John Craine
  • Allison Morrill
  • Allie Humenuk
  • Aimee Arvan
  • Betsy Peixotto
  • Christopher Spence
  • Erika Simon
Page last reviewed: February 7, 2020